Seeing the Unseen

What this blog is about

… or perhaps more appropriately, what this blog is going to be about.

I have fought and debated and wondered for a long, long time about this – why I should blog. Why should I put any more words out there, when there are millions of (mostly meaningless) words out there already? Well, I don’t know, precisely, just that I cannot shake the idea that I must.

I’m a Christian, a mother and wife, a homeschooler and homemaker, but I am certainly no expert in any of these things. I fail more than I succeed. I have no interest in pretending to be more together than I am. I am not terribly witty, or wise. I don’t even think I am a good writer.

So why do this at all? Why click “publish” today, and however many times after?

Perhaps it has something to do with living incarnationally. It definitely has something to do with being intentional in my own life about looking for the truth, seeing the truth – the reality of God – in a broken and fallen world – and speaking truth in a world full of lies, even if I am only speaking to myself.

The now, what we can see with our physical eyes, it threatens to consume us and steal our joy. Indeed, even our very souls are at stake. I must fight for joy, fight to see the unseen, to see Christ, God at work and in control when it looks like all hell is breaking loose.

And when what is seen is lovely? Well, I ought to celebrate it, not blow past it! I want to love the Giver of Life, and be grateful for his good gifts.

That is what this blog is about – the fight for joy, and celebrating joy – for the sake of my soul, and perhaps for the sake of yours too, and for the glory of God.

“So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen, since what is seen in temporary, but what is unseen is eternal” 2 Cor 4:18

Leave a Reply

