Boring-ness is Close to Godliness

I kind of love my boring quiet life, and the older I get and the more frantic society seems to become the more I crave it. I’ve joked about it in a series of #fridaynite Facebook posts where I highlight just how unexciting our lives seem to be. Maybe it irritates people, but my hope was to bring a little freedom:

Freedom from the “always show your good side”, best-foot forward, selfie taking craziness of social media; freedom to spend my time the way I see fit; freedom from pretending that I am cooler than I actually am (who am I fooling anyway?; freedom to unapologetically be myself; freedom to take joy in what might be tedious to someone else.

Freedom to stop worshipping the idols of busyness, influence or, failing that notoriety.

Freedom to love the ones I love – just by giving them time and undivided attention.

Freedom from pretense so I can be honest, authentic and, dare I say, healthy.

Boring is sounding pretty awesome.

I might be judged and ignored for my boring life choices, and that might hurt a little at times, but even that rejection will be good for me – maybe it’ll root out a little more of my self-importance. Hallelujah for that! I need all the help I can get!

I wouldn’t go so far as to say that boring is always better…that’s taking it a little too far, but there does seem to be an awful lot of biblical encouragement for simple, daily faithfulness, for doing every small act to the glory of God, and everyone I can think of in the Bible who was in the public eye, doing something “exciting” for God had a clear call. I think it would be a very good thing for the church (really, for everyone) if we chilled out on the YouTube and the selfies and the platform building – and stopped trying to force our way into people’s notice. Let’s just be faithful with the little things (that’s hard enough for me).

Now about your love for one another we do not need to write to you, for you yourselves have been taught by God to love each other… Yet we urge you, brothers and sisters, to do so more and more, and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you, so that your daily life may win the respect of outsiders and so that you will not be dependent on anybody. – 1 Thess 4:9-12

2 thoughts on “Boring-ness is Close to Godliness

  1. I guess, if we are secure in what we do; in who we are, then, just like beauty, it’s all in the eye of the beholder. If I behold that your life is boring, or you, that mine is flashy and self-indulgent… is it even vaguely important? Surely if you don’t think your life is boring… well then it’s not, based on the fact they it is YOUR life. What I think about your life is irrelevant and inconsequential. I don’t know the motivations for your life choices… as no one can know the motivations of mine. I don’t think you life is boring… it’s different than mine. Thats awesome!
    Great Blog:)

    • I totally agree. I don’t think my life is boring, but I am certain that others do, and I don’t mind a bit. What drives me a little crazy though is watching people live their lives for the sake of a great Facebook status – trying to prove themselves to people whose opinions really don’t matter….and don’t even get me started on selfies 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

