When You Can’t Say Something Nice

So it’s been a little quiet over here the last week or so – not because life has been quiet, of course. I have barely had time to think with all the running around.

I had a few posts practically writing themselves as I did the dishes this last week, I was so eager to get them written down, but something always intercepted the plan – a fussy kid, or wet soil all over the carpet (don’t ask) .

In hindsight I think it was Providence.

I have been hurt and offended, angry and bewildered by others – and that relational friction makes for great blog fodder. But:

Fools show their annoyance at once, but the prudent overlook an insult. – Proverbs 12:16

That.

That verse is underlined, boxed and starred in my Bible. I’m a fool. I know it.

While it might be true that I am a verbal processor, and that talking things out helps me to understand how I really feel about a situation, it does not justify my behaviour. Saying “I just need to vent” is not an acceptable excuse for slander and gossip.

Last week I really really wanted to write some passive aggressive posts to get back at the people that irritated me. It would have felt so good, and so bad.

Turns out I didn’t have the time or the energy, and for that I am thankful. Of all the places to get my anger out – the internet is the worst one. It could have gotten so ugly.

There is only one safe place to vent, all the time, about anything. I’ll go to Him with my frustration, and let the blog remain silent. When the words I have to say are words that will build up instead of break down I’ll write again.

Blessings, friends. You’re in my heart.

Leave a Reply

